Songs to Remember Our Loved Ones Who Passed Away

During the pandemic, and before, several songs have brought comfort when a loved one dies.

Eileen Davis
3 min readMay 29, 2021
flags on graves
Photo by Justin Casey on Unsplash

I used to believe that Memorial Day was only for remembering soldiers until two ladies described putting flowers on family members’ graves several years ago. That realization helped me broaden my appreciation for Memorial Day. I live too far away from family graves to visit them regularly, so I remember through pictures, poems, and songs. Perhaps my playlist will help you this Memorial Day too.

Remembering My Grandma through “Someone You Loved” by Lewis Capaldi

When I first saw the music video “Someone You Loved” with Lewis Capaldi and Peter Capaldi, so many emotions swirled through me. The story tells of a man who lost his wife and how a new person has the wife’s heart. The images tell the story so poignantly. After my maternal grandmother passed away in September 2020, I added this song to my Spotify playlist and listened to it nightly. My grandma loved me very much, though sometimes I felt she was more annoyed with me. I realize that was sometimes her way of showing how she cared.

Remembering Those Who Passed Away from Suicide through “Before You Go” by Lewis Capaldi

Spotify recommended “Before You Go” and I listened to it. I liked the lyrics yet it seemed a strange song for a significant other to say before breaking up. Then I read Spotify’s author information: Lewis Capaldi wrote this in memoriam of his aunt who died by suicide when he was 5. Suddenly, I knew how significant this song was, especially for 2020–2021.

This song resonates with me because of my struggle with suicidal thoughts and the struggles of other acquaintances. Two neighboring young men died by suicide shortly before my family moved to Blanding, Utah, and their families have shared their grieving process often to help others through similar circumstances over the past 30+ years. Those families have reached out to other families affected by suicide during 2021. The pandemic took its mental toll on four individuals within my acquaintance. I also struggled with suicidality during the winter.

Showing kindness and love to others every day will help us all stay mentally healthy. Further, I list my thoughts on helping someone with suicidal thoughts in this post. So tell others how special they are before they go out the door each morning. And tell yourself too.

Remembering those Who Passed Away from COVID-19 through “Memories” by Maroon 5

In May 2020, many shared One Voice Children’s Choir “Memories” music video on social media. This is when I first clearly remember hearing the song. The lyrics and video conveyed how we collectively felt about those who had passed from COVID-19. Additionally, the lyrics and beat feel accessible to a broad audience.

Originally, Maroon 5 released “Memories” in September 2019 to commemorate Adam Levine’s friend and manager, Jordan Feldstein. The timing seems significant that we had this beautiful song from the beginning of the pandemic.

Spiritual Songs to Remember Loved Ones

At many funerals I attend, we sing songs “Abide With Me”, “Each Life That Touches Ours for Good”, “Families Can Be Together Forever”, and “Be Still My Soul.” For a more pop feel, I enjoy “Some Sweet Day” sung by Mariah Carey and Boys II Men. Particular phrases and verses speak more to my heart, and perhaps to yours too.

“When such a friend from us departs,/ We hold forever in our hearts/ A sweet and hallowed memory”

-Karen Lynn Davidson “Each Life That Touches Ours for Good”

“Be still my soul: When change and tears are past,/ All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.”

-Katharina von Schlegel “Be Still My Soul”

“And I know you’re shining down on me from heaven/ Like so many friends we’ve lost along the way/ And I know eventually we’ll be together/ One sweet day”

-Mariah Carey “Some Sweet Day”

These songs express the grief and losing a loved one and the hope for a future with them. I find hope provides perspective to navigate the consequent grief, depression, and anger. Ultimately, we long for hope in the unseen.

What songs or activities help you remember your loved ones?

--

--

Eileen Davis

I love language and believe every word is a poem. I majored in English language from BYU. I am a mom to four rambunctious boys. I have bipolar disorder too.